Menu

Hingham Primary School

Nurture - Learn - Achieve

Home Page

Hingham Primary School

Nurture - Learn - Achieve

Autumn Term

 

Wouldn’t it be great if you could build a home that opened its doors to everyone – tall or short, fat or thin, rich or poor… Well, perhaps if everybody pitches in to help, one little mouse can achieve that dream. This heart-warming story is brought to life with clever die-cuts and playful illustrations.

 

From the creator of the known and loved Bright Side lifestyle brand, Rachel Bright, and the winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize, Jim Field, comes a feelgood rhyming story about one little mouse trying to make himself heard and discovering along the way that even the smallest of us has the heart of a lion. Perfect for fans of Giraffes Can't Dance this stylish book from two contemporary stars really is something to shout about - it will make you laugh, cry and read it every bedtime.

 

Ruby loves being Ruby. Until, one day, she finds a worry. At first it's not such a big worry, and that's all right, but then it starts to grow. It gets bigger and bigger every day and it makes Ruby sad. How can Ruby get rid of it and feel like herself again?

Sunny the meerkat lives with his enormous family in the Kalahari desert. They are all very close . . . so close, in fact, that one day Sunny decides it's just too crowded and packs his bags. He's off to visit his mongoose cousins. But from the watery world of the Marsh Mongoose to the nocturnal lifestyle of the Malagasy Mongoose, Sunny just doesn't fit in. And who's that shadowy figure who seems to be following him around?

 

With spare, powerful text and richly-imagined illustrations, We're All Wonders shows readers what it's like to live in Auggie's world - a world in which he feels like any other kid, but he's not always seen that way.

We're All Wonders taps into every child's longing to belong, and to be seen for who they truly are. It's the perfect way for families to talk about empathy, difference and kindness with their children.

A child grows and discovers the world. As he lies awake at night, he sees there’s enough room in the sky for all the stars and the moon. When he visits the ocean, he sees there is enough room for all the fish, even for the whales. As he grows up, he doesn’t understand why people fight for space. Surely, if we are kinder to one another, there will always be room for everyone?

 

Noi isn’t at all sure about staying at Grandma’s. Grandma boils seaweed for soup, and there’s not much to do on the tiny island where she lives where the wind cuts in and the grass grows sideways  . . . But that's before Noi gets swept up in the dramatic rescue that will mark the beginning of their touching new friendship.

Top